9th January 1922

A truce called on 11 July 1921 ended the war of independence. Initial talks between the British Prime Minister David Lloyd George and Éamon de Valera (President of Dáil Éireann) in the summer of 1921, were followed by plenipotentiaries travelling to London to negotiate a settlement, which became the Anglo-Irish Treaty.

The terms of this Treaty caused a split in Dáil Éireann. On 9 January 1922 those who opposed the Treaty left the Dáil chamber, including all six women TDs. Their decision was replicated by the membership of Cumann na mBan who at their convention rejected the terms of the Articles of Agreement by 419 votes to 63. Cumann na Saoirse (Society of Freedom) was then formed by women who supported the Treaty.

Read more about the 100 Year Journey here. →
9th January 1922

Material Culture
Cultúr Ábhar

Gallery 1912-1923

This Gallery shows images representing key moments from the signing of the Women’s Declaration to the establishment of the Irish Free State Senate.

Mná100 showcases material culture from national and local museums, archives, libraries and galleries across the island of Ireland and abroad.

Descendants of those who participated in events of 100 years ago have generously allowed access to their private collections.

View Gallery →

Centenary Moments
Nóiméad Céad Bliain


Toward America

Toward America is a specially curated film, grounded in original research and a wealth of images from private and public collections in Ireland and the United States.

Read more
Centenary Moments
View All Moments →

About Mná 100

‘My objective is to highlight the experiences and influence of the women who lived during this period of immense change … The voices of others have never before been heard or have long since been forgotten. I am delighted that they are now taking their rightful place in our history.’

Read the Minister’s Statement